About the IFDH

The International Federation of Dental Hygienists was officially formed on June 28, 1986 in Oslo, Norway. The forerunner of the IFDH, The International Liaison Committee on Dental Hygiene, was established in 1973, by some European countries (including the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the UK), the USA, Canada and Japan.

The IFDH is an international non-governmental organization, free from any political, racial, or religious ties. It is incorporated and registered in the United States as a 501(c6) non-profit organization. It unites dental hygiene associations from around the world in their common cause of promoting dental health.


The International Federation of Dental Hygienists is an international non-profit association uniting national Dental Hygienist organizations, by fostering leadership and collaboration.

IFDH is the principal advocate for the dental hygiene profession globally and promotes excellence in oral health, education, research and practice.


IFDH is dedicated to enhancing the recognition of the dental hygienist as being the key provider of preventive oral health care worldwide, and ensuring that oral health is integrated as a key aspect of overall health.

The IFDH is governed by its House of Delegates, which is comprised of 2 delegates from each Association Member. Normally the House of Delegates meets every two years, in conjunction with the International Symposium of Dental Hygiene, which is hosted and organized by a selected member country.

A five member Board of Directors (president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, and secretary), elected by the House of Delegates is responsible for the execution of goals as presented by the Board and agreed upon by the House of Delegates during each two year period.